Elementary School Principal Grabs This Year’s Principal of the Year Title

index_8FayettevilleKim Robertson, principal of Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary School, has been selected as the 2014-2015 Cumberland County Schools’ Principal of the Year (POY).

Robertson now moves on to compete with other local award recipients from the Sandhills/South Central Region of the state. After the state selection process is completed, one principal will be selected as the 2015 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year.

The 20-year education veteran has served as a school administrator for 11 years and started her career in the field after receiving a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from Fayetteville State University (FSU) in 1992. Eleven years later, she obtained a master’s degree in school administration also from FSU. Throughout her career, she has served in numerous educational leadership positions and was recently appointed to serve on the North Carolina Educator Effectiveness and Compensation Task Force representing School Principals.

As an administrator, Robertson said she firmly believes that the greatest gift she, as a principal, can give her students is a great teacher. “It is my desire to ensure that our children have the very best [teacher] in front of them each day,” said Robertson. “A big part of my current strategic plan is attracting and retaining the best and the brightest [teachers]. It is abundantly clear to me that people with the right skills AND motivation are an unstoppable force.” Robertson said she sees herself as “motivator in chief” and works daily to empower her teachers. “An effective leader cannot and should not be everywhere trying to make everything happen and everyone successful,” said Robertson. “An effective leader mines talent and gives it the tools that guarantee success, even when you are not there. Empowering talented people with autonomy and guidelines has a profound impact on our planning. The talent at my disposal can anticipate and see around corners. Our current and future story is filled with broken paradigms, non-existent status quo, and growth for EVERY student in our school. The conditions have been set and our team is exceeding expectations and rising to the challenge daily.”

As the CCS’ Principal of the Year winner, Robertson received the following:

  • Principal of the Year Award from the Cumberland County Board of Education
  • Cash award and floral arrangement from the CCS
  • Engraved desk clock from Herff Jones
  • Commemorative Principal of the Year ring from Jostens
  • $5,000 check for school use from LaFayette Ford
  • $1,000 check for personal use from LaFayette Ford
  • $100 gift certificate from Maid 2 Shine
  • A weekend stay in the Presidential Suite at Embassy Suites – Fayetteville/Fort Bragg
  • Gift certificate for pet service of choice from Pet Tastics

All seven POY nominees [Dr. Thomas Benson (Westover High), Michele Cain (Cumberland Road Elementary), Jeanna Daniels (Beaver Dam Elementary), Felix Keyes (New Century International Elementary), Scott Pope (Max Abbott Middle), Kim Robertson (Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary), and Michael Tucker (Cliffdale Elementary)] received a mounted certificate/plaque from the Cumberland County Board of Education, a cash award and one unit of professional credit from the CCS, an iPad Mini from the CCS’ Technology Department, a professional photograph from Lifetouch Photography, a gift card for housecleaning services from Maid 2 Shine, and a chauffeured limousine ride to the Luncheon from Exclusive Shuttle & Limo Service.

This year, as a show of appreciation, all CCS’ principals received gift certificates from Newk’s Eatery and Maid 2 Shine housecleaning service. Their names were also entered in a drawing to receive two His & Her fragrance baskets from Belk and Macy’s in Cross Creek Mall.

The regional Wells Fargo Principals of the Year, who will be announced in January 2015, will receive $1,000 for their school and $1,000 for personal use. The 2015 State Wells Fargo Principal of the Year can expect to receive $3,000 for his/her personal use and for his/her school. The winner will be announced in the spring of 2015 at a state-wide awards event.


Published on September 19, 2014 by Renarta Clanton Moyd